My Spiritual Fish

Home: 

Meditation, spirit, mysticism, and astral travel are not made up powers, and are not much different from opening a can of tuna. Let me explain it this way:

One pre-dawn morning I went into my fish’s bedroom banging on a trash can like an army drill instructor and rousted her out of bed. The next thing she knew was that I had her standing on a diving board, yelling at her to jump into the pool.

“Holy mackeral,” she said, “I’ll sink like a rock and drown!”

“No, you won’t,” I said, “I’ve already arranged it with the ‘universe.’ I said a hundred ‘affirmations,’ burnt a kilo of incense, stood on my head, did an hour of meditation and visualization, and read the TV Guide. You’re all set. Jump in, you’ll be fine!”

“How will I breathe?”

“I don’t know, but the ‘universe’ knows–ala ‘The Secret,” ‘as above, so below,’ ‘yadda-yadda,’ you don’t have to figure out how to breathe underwater, the universe will do it for you. Trust me.”

She didn’t have any choice, of course, because she couldn’t run away. She wasn’t like those fish in Florida that walk across lawns. Cats love it when they see them coming. Call them ‘meals on wheels.’ My fish held her nose and jumped.

When she didn’t drown she was ecstatic. Later whenever I walked by she would jump out of the pool and get my shoes wet and say, “I’m a spiritual fish!” She was entirely too noisy and proud to be a spiritual anything, and it was all I could do to keep from picking her up and throwing her into the neighbor’s pool.

But her incessant claim to spirituality made me think:

Does discovering that you possess powers of the ‘invisible realm’ make you spiritual–or just more aware of what you really are? If she is a spiritual fish now, as she claims, wasn’t she ‘spiritual’ before she learned to swim? And since her absorbing oxygen from water is no different from me absorbing vitamins from eating tuna, does that make me spiritual? I think not. We’re all spiritual, whether we discover it or not.

I have utter faith that ‘affirmation’ and ‘visualization’ will, and does, consciously or unconsciously, create change in our lives, whether it be to attain money, a new car, or a new house, or, to bend spoons. All of us have capacity; where we differ is in our appreciation of just how much we are in control of our own lives. Our powers, whether labelled physical or spiritual, contribute to the quality of our lives and bring us delight or fulfillment. So, my house is full of bent and broken spoons.

But it seems to me the real job concerning these powers is to ‘fill our cup’ with as many as we are wont to have, and then discover who it is on this earth that we should use them for.

About soaringdragons

Twenty years and still alive--in China, that is. I write about China and the world of spirit--all very non-expertly--and whatever else strikes my fancy. You'll find posts on even days of the month.
This entry was posted in Living in the Universe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

